Redskins Name Stephen Bowen Winner of Ed Block Courage Award - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

Redskins Name Stephen Bowen Winner of Ed Block Courage Award

Stephen Bowen Stephen Bowen

ASHBURN, Va. - The Washington Redskins announced Thursday that they have named defensive end Stephen Bowen the winner of the team's 2011 Ed Block Courage Award. The honor is given annually to a player from each National Football League team who displays extraordinary courage in the face of adversity.

On June 28, Bowen and his wife gave birth to twin boys, Skyler and Stephen III, who were born four months premature. Both weighed 1 pound, 6 ounces. Skyler passed away one week later. Stephen III remained in a neonatal intensive care unit at a Dallas-area hospital until September. In the midst of his family's tragedy Bowen signed with the Redskins as a free agent on July 30. While transitioning to a new city and new defense in Washington, his heart stayed in Dallas where his family remained until Stephen III was deemed healthy enough to transfer to a Northern Virginia hospital. Stephen III was released from the hospital in October.

Despite the personal adversity of losing a son and monitoring the progress of another, Bowen's competitive edge and commitment to his teammates never wavered. He has started all 12 games through Week 13, in the process establishing a career high in sacks (4.5) and adding 43 tackles (27 solo), six tackles for loss, 16 quarterback pressures and one fumble recovery. He has also played despite a torn posterior cruciate ligament suffered in Week 12 against the Seattle Seahawks.

"Stephen exemplifies the physical and mental toughness needed to play in today's NFL both on and off the field," said Redskins Head Athletic Trainer Larry Hess. "We are proud to have him a part of our organization."

"To go through what Stephen has had to endure and be able to perform at a high level day-in and day-out is just remarkable," said Redskins Defensive Coordinator Jim Haslett. "His courage is unmatched and I'm glad I have had the opportunity to work with a young man of his character."

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts' defensive end, Joe Ehrmann. Following the Colts' departure from Baltimore in 1984, the scope of the award expanded to include one player from every team in the NFL.

Past Redskins Ed Block Courage Award Winners 

2010 Ma'ake Kemoeatu
2009 Phillip Daniels
2008 Reed Doughty
2007 Marcus Washington
2006 Randy Thomas
2005 Khary Campbell
2004 Brandon Noble
2003 Fred Smoot
2002 Chris Samuels
2001 Cory Raymer
2000 James Thrash
1999 Tre' Johnson
1998 Darrell Green
1997 James Jenkins
1996 Ed Simmons
1995 Keith Taylor
1994 Mark Schlereth
1993 Art Monk
1992 Anthony Johnson
1991 Donnie Warren
1990 Joe Jacoby
1989 Neil Olkewicz
1988 Doug Williams
1987 Mel Kaufman
1986 Darryl Grant
1985 Ken Huff
1984 Mark May

Powered by Frankly

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices