Wesley Wins 2012 CAC Golf Championships - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

Wesley Wins 2012 CAC Golf Championships


WYOMING, DE – Wesley College's golf team won the 2012 Capital Athletic Conference Championship on Saturday afternoon at the 6,803-yard, par 72, Wild Quail Golf & Country Club.  The Wolverines shot a 615 as a team, defeating runner-up and defending champion, Stevenson University by eight strokes.  Wesley's Robert Ehrhardt shot a second-round 74 after an opening round, 71, to take the individual title by seven shots (145).

This is the third CAC title for the Wolverines golf team, who also won the trophy in 2008 and 2010.  Ehrhardt is also the third Wesley player to win the individual championship as Chris Osberg won the tournament in both 2008 and 2010. As the individual winner, Ehrhardt was named the CAC Player of the Year.

Following Stevenson (623) in third place in the team standings was York (632), Marymount (642) and Hood (718). 

Stevenson's Ben Lukehart finished second in the individual standings with a 152 (76-76) and Wesley's Cody Pestun (153-74/79) and Stevenson's Sean Cavanaugh (153-79/74) tied for third.  Rounding out the top-five was Travis Oot of York (154-81/73).

Ehrhardt, Lukehart, Pestun, Cavanaugh and Oot make up the CAC All-Conference first team while Peter Johns of Marymount, Wesley's Clayton Bunting, Kevin Long of York (Pa.), Stevenson's Justin Hughes, Andrew Schmehl of York (Pa.) and Marymount's Mark Anthony Curtis earned second-team all-conference honors.

Tying for third place, Pestun and Cavanaugh were subsequently named CAC Co-Rookies of the Year, while Wesley's Rick McCall and York's Jeff Gamber shared Co-Coach of the Year honors.  The Andrew Geyer Memorial Trophy, which goes to the golfer who best displays the spirit of the late, and former Wesley golfer, Andrew Geyer, went to Ben Lukehart of Stevenson.

Team Standings
Wesley – 615
Stevenson – 623
York (Pa.) – 632
Marymount – 642
Hood - 718

CAC Player of the Year – Robert Ehrhardt (Wesley)
CAC Co-Rookie of the Year – Cody Pestun (Wesley) and Sean Cavanaugh (Stevenson)
CAC Co-Coach of the Year – Rick McCall (Wesley) and Jeff Gamber (York)
Andrew Geyer Memorial Trophy – Ben Lukehart (Stevenson)

First Team
Robert Ehrhardt (Wesley)
Ben Lukehart (Stevenson)
Cody Pestun (Wesley)
Sean Cavanaugh (Stevenson)
Travis Oot (York)

Second Team
Peter Johns (Marymount)
Clayton Bunting (Wesley)
Kevin Long (York)
Justin Hughes (Stevenson)
Andrew Schmehl (York)
Mary Anthony Curtis (Marymount)

Powered by Frankly

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices