President Declares Disaster for Maryland - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

President Declares Disaster for Maryland

Posted: Updated:

WASHINGTON- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency announced federal disaster aid is available to the State of Maryland.  The money will supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by Hurricane Sandy during the period of Oct. 26-Nov. 4. 

According to FEMA, the president's action makes federal funding available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Sandy.

The aid will cover damage in Allegany, Calvert, Caroline, Charles, Dorchester, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, St. Mary's, Talbot, Washington, Wicomico and Worcester counties as well as the independent city of Baltimore.

FEMA named Michael J. Lapinski as the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Lapinski said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Powered by Frankly

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2019 WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices