McCartney Named CAA Breakthrough Player of the Year - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

McCartney Named CAA Breakthrough Player of the Year


BALTIMORE, Md. -- University of Delaware women's lacrosse standout
Caitlin McCartney, who was one of the nation's top rookies as a freshman
in 2012, has been named by Inside Lacrosse Magazine as the pre-season
Breakthrough Player of the Year for the Colonial Athletic Association.

A "Breakthrough Player" was selected for each NCAA Division I conference
as part of the 2013 Inside Lacrosse Face-Off Yearbook. The yearbook will
include season previews, player information, and top 20 rankings.

Delaware, led by third-year head coach Kateri Linville, will open the
2013 season Feb. 16 against Georgetown at Delaware Stadium. The Hoyas
were picked No. 13 in the IL pre-season Top 20 poll.

McCartney enjoyed an outstanding rookie campaign as she was named the
CAA Rookie of the Year while also earning first team All-CAA and second
team Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association Mid-Atlantic
Region honors. In addition, she was a three-time CAA Rookie of the Week,
earned the team's UD Alumni Association Most Valuable Player Award, and
was named to the National All-Rookie squad.

She tied for the team lead in goals with 35 and was second in total
points with 39, just two below team leader Chelsea Fay. She scored three
or more goals in a game six times, including a season-high four vs.
Denver, Villanova, and George Mason and three in her collegiate debut
vs. then No. 2 ranked Maryland. She also led the team in free position
goals (11) and groundballs (37), was second in draw controls (39), and
was third in caused turnovers (14).

Other Inside Lacrosse Breakthrough Player recognition was received by
Mikaela Rix (Boston College), Tayler Kuzma (Ohio State), Michelle Rubino
(Stony Brook), Emily Doyle (Richmond), Holly Ventimiglia (Jacksonville),
Margaret Smith (Notre Dame), Kendyl Gardner (High Point), Erin McMunn
(Princeton), Courtney Chmil (Fairfield), Lyndsey Munoz (Stanford), Kyra
Ochwat (Quinnipiac), and Ana White (Lafayette).

Powered by Frankly

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices