UD Athlete Named College Sports Madness High Major Player of Yr - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

UD's Delle Donne Tabbed as College Sports Madness High Major Player of the Year


NEWARK, Del.– With the Colonial Athletic Association Women's Basketball Championship on the horizon, College Sports Madness has announced University of Delaware Women's Basketball senior Elena Delle Donne as its 2013 High Major Player of the Year.

The High Major list takes into account all players who play in conferences other than the Big East, Big 10, Big 12, ACC, SEC, Pac 12.

Delle Donne wrapped up the season with a 25.5 point scoring average in addition to posting 8.4 rebounds, 2.4 blocks, 1.9 assists and 1.0 steals per contest for the No. 15 Blue Hens (27-3; 18-0 CAA).  She is ranked second in the NCAA with her point total, behind FIU's Jerica Coley, who has put up 25.9 points per game this season.

Additionally, the All-American forward is currently 13th in NCAA women's basketball history with 2,867 career points in just 108 games played.

Delle Donne has racked up 10 Delaware women's basketball career records and is tops in CAA history in five different career categories, including scoring records.

Dayton's Jim Jabir was named the College Sports Madness Coach of the Year while Riana Byrd from San Jose State picked up Freshman of the Year honors.

Drexel's Hollie Mershon (third team) and Hofstra's Shante Evans (fourth team) were the other CAA players on the list.

Delle Donne helped lead the Hens to their second straight CAA regular season title as Delaware wentundefeated in conference play for the second consecutive year.

The Blue Hens will face the winner of #8 George Mason/#9 UNCW Friday at noon at The Show Place Arena in Upper Marlboro, Md.

Delaware captured its first-ever CAA Tournament Championship last season and is the favorite for a second title.

2013 CSM PLAYER OF THE YEAR:  Elena Delle Donne, Delaware
2013 CSM COACH OF THE YEAR:  Jim Jabir, Dayton
2103 CSM FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR:  Riana Byrd, San Jose State

Elena Delle Donne, Delaware
Chelsea Hopkins, San Diego State
Jackie Nared, Saint Mary's
Nicole Dickson, Memphis
Anete Steinberga, UTEP

Crystal Bradford, Central Michigan
Devyn Christensen, Utah State
Alex Cowling, Loyola Marymount
Brandi Brown, Youngstown State

Jacqui Kalin, Northern Iowa
Hollie Mershon, Drexel
Sarah Nelson, Creighton
Rachel Tecca, Akron
Chatilla van Grinsven, Saint Joseph's

Ki-Ki Moore, Fresno State
Adrian Ritchie, Green Bay
Daress McClung, Butler
Chaundra Sewell, Wyoming
Shante Evans, Hofstra

Powered by Frankly

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices