South Atlantic League Announces 2013 Awards - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

South Atlantic League Announces 2013 Awards


CLEARWATER, Fla.- The recipients of the 2013 South Atlantic League Outstanding Achievement Awards have been announced, SAL President Eric Krupa said Tuesday.

All 14 teams in the league, along with the field managers and umpires were involved in the voting for these awards.

Club Merit Award: The Greensboro Grasshoppers were selected as the winner for outstanding overall club operations. This is the fifth time Greensboro has won this award, previously taking the honor in 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008.

Community Service Award: The Lexington Legends were chosen as the inaugural winner of this award, recognizing the club's charitable and philanthropic contributions to their community.

Excellence in Marketing Award: The Charleston RiverDogs were given the honor of this award that recognizes outstanding marketing and promotions. This is the third time in five years that Charleston has won this award, previously having won in 2009 and 2011.

General Manager of the Year: Dave Echols of the Charleston RiverDogs was selected as the winner. This is the second time Dave has received this award, having won previously in 2011.

Female Executive of the Year: Kathryn Bobel of the Hickory Crawdads was selected for this year.

Media Relations Director of the Year: Greg Giombarrese of the Lakewood BlueClaws received this award. This is the second time Giombarrese received this award, once in 2011.

Sales Executive of the Year: Andy Lange of the Charleston RiverDogs was selected as the Sales Executive of the Year.

Sports Turf Manager of the Year: Greg Burgess of the Greenville Drive was given this honor. This is the third time Greg has won this award, having won twice in 2008 and 2010.

Best Playing Field Award: Fluor Field at the West End, home of the Greenville Drive won this award. This is the fourth time Greenville's field has been honored (2007, 2008 and 2010.)

Athletic Trainer of the Year Award: Mark Keiser of the Lexington Legends has been selected for this honor. His fellow peers voted him from the Professional Baseball Athletic Trainers Society (PBATS.)
Bat Person of the Year Award: Jimmy Seabolt from the West Virginia Power was chosen for this award.

Visiting Clubhouse Manager of the Year Award: Matt Sanchez of the Augusta GreenJackets was selected for this honor.

Powered by Frankly

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices