10 Va. Schools Honored for Achievements - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

10 Va. Schools Honored for Achievements


RICHMOND, Va. (AP)- The U.S. Department of Education has named 10 schools in Virginia as 2013 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

The department announced the awards Tuesday for 286 schools nationwide.

The schools are: Carrsville Elementary in Isle of Wight County; Forest Hills Elementary in Danville; Garrisonville Elementary in Stafford County; L.L. Beazley Elementary in Prince George County; Meriwether Lewis Elementary in Albemarle County; Snowville Elementary in Pulaski County; Westbriar Elementary in Fairfax County; Sacred Heart Academy in Winchester; St. Veronica Catholic School in Chantilly and St. Patrick Catholic School in Norfolk.

The program that began in 1982 recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either high performing or have raised student achievement to high levels.

The schools will be recognized at a ceremony in November in Washington, D.C.

Powered by Frankly

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices