Officials Probe Del. Treasurer's Review Of Charges - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

Officials Probe Del. Treasurer's Review Of Charges

DOVER, Del. (AP) - State officials are questioning how Delaware Treasurer Chip Flowers has handled a review of questionable charges made by his former deputy on her state credit card before she was forced to resign.

The News Journal reports state records show former Deputy Treasurer Erika Benner charged more questionable expenses than initially reported. Some of the expenses were for travel with Flowers when he made similar charges for trips to Washington, D.C., Seattle and Alaska.

Benner repaid the state more than $9,000 between June and August at the request of Flowers.

Now Flowers says many of those charges were appropriate business expenses and that Benner may be due money back.

Accounting Director Kristopher Knight says he's concerned Flowers made conflicting statements about Benner's charges. Flowers says he has nothing to hide.

 

  • Delmarvawide NewsDelmarvawide NewsMore>>

  • Crabs and Watermelons at Annapolis Stadium

    Crabs and Watermelons at Annapolis Stadium

    Friday, August 1 2014 8:25 AM EDT2014-08-01 12:25:30 GMT
    Crabs and watermelon are the stars of a giant summertime feast open to the public at the Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis.More
    Crabs and watermelon are the stars of a giant summertime feast open to the public at the Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis.More
  • WBOC and FOX21 Reach Agreement with DIRECTV

    WBOC and FOX21 Reach Agreement with DIRECTV

    Friday, August 1 2014 8:53 AM EDT2014-08-01 12:53:43 GMT
    Craig Jahelka, vice president general manager of WBOC-TV issued the following statement early Friday: "WBOC-TV and FOX21 are pleased to announce we will continue to be available to DIRECTV subscribers. We have reached an agreement designed to secure continued carriage of our top-rated stations on DIRECTV for the foreseeable future. "We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude for the support and understanding our family, friends and neighbors here on Delmarva have demons...More
    Craig Jahelka, vice president general manager of WBOC-TV issued the following statement early Friday: "WBOC-TV and FOX21 are pleased to announce we will continue to be available to DIRECTV subscribers. We have reached an agreement designed to secure continued carriage of our top-rated stations on DIRECTV for the foreseeable future. "We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude for the support and understanding our family, friends and neighbors here on Delmarva have demons...More
  • Trimper's Rides Sued for 2012 Accident

    Trimper's Rides Sued for 2012 Accident

    Friday, August 1 2014 8:32 AM EDT2014-08-01 12:32:35 GMT
    Friday June 28, 2012 started out as a normal day at the amusement park for J and his family until they rode the Hampton I, a mini car and truck ride.More
    Friday June 28, 2012 started out as a normal day at the amusement park for J and his family until they rode the Hampton I, a mini car and truck ride.More
  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • Credit Card Scam Hits Ocean City

    Credit Card Scam Hits Ocean City

    Thursday, July 31 2014 8:46 PM EDT2014-08-01 00:46:29 GMT
    OCEAN CITY, Md.- The Ocean City Police Department is advising citizens of a recent cyber-attack that compromised the security of numerous credit card processing companies nationwide.More
    OCEAN CITY, Md.- The Ocean City Police Department is advising citizens of a recent cyber-attack that compromised the security of numerous credit card processing companies nationwide.More
  • Easton Woman Charged with Murder of Virginia Tech Student

    Easton Woman Charged with Murder of Virginia Tech Student

    Thursday, July 31 2014 12:48 PM EDT2014-07-31 16:48:41 GMT
    A 22-year-old Easton, Md. woman has been charged with both first- and second-degree murder in Virginia's Montgomery County Circuit Court.More
    A 22-year-old Easton, Md. woman has been charged with both first- and second-degree murder in Virginia's Montgomery County Circuit Court.More
  • Trimper's Rides Sued for 2012 Accident

    Trimper's Rides Sued for 2012 Accident

    Friday, August 1 2014 8:32 AM EDT2014-08-01 12:32:35 GMT
    Friday June 28, 2012 started out as a normal day at the amusement park for J and his family until they rode the Hampton I, a mini car and truck ride.More
    Friday June 28, 2012 started out as a normal day at the amusement park for J and his family until they rode the Hampton I, a mini car and truck ride.More
Powered by WorldNow

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service