Six Hornets Named to 2013 MEAC All-Academic Team - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

Six Hornets Named to 2013 MEAC All-Academic Team


DOVER, Del. – Six Hornets from the cross country team have been named to the Mid-Eastern Atlantic 2013 Conference Cross Country All-Academic Team, Delaware State University officials said.

In order to receive this prestigious academic award, each student-athlete must be a sophomore, junior or senior, along with having a 3.0 or better cumulative grade point average, officials said.  The six cross country athletes are among 81 other student-athletes earning this recognition in the conference.

"I commend the men's and women's cross country student-athletes who maintained a 3.0 or better grade point average during the 2012-2013 academic school year," said Commissioner Dennis E. Thomas.

"In addition to recognizing the student-athletes accomplishments, I also applaud the athletic academic support staff and personnel and coaching staffs who contributed to the academic triumphs of these student athletes. Our institutions, coaches and support staffs are committed to the academic success of our student-athletes."

On the men's side for the Hornets, Andre Henry and Terrell Oliver garnered the award, while Chelsea Clark, Ketsia Dornevil, Anaya Reid and Djnab Williams led the way for women.

DSU will wrap up it's 2013 season this Saturday at 9:30 a.m. with the MEAC Championships in Princess Anne, Md., hosted by UMES.

Listed below are the 2013 Men's and Women's Cross Country All-Academic honorees (by institutions):

Bethune-Cookman (7)

Megan Brown

Ricy Brown

Christopher Collins

Nnamdi Davis

Jessica De'Roux

Kevin Lewis

Kristen Taylor

Coppin State (7)

Blake Anderson

Robert Arrington

Edward Brown

Melissa Caddle

Delroy Davis

Michael McCoy

Jennifer Mitchell

Delaware State (6)

Chelsea Clark

Ketsia Dornevil

Andre Henry

Terrell Oliver

Anaya Reid

Djnab Williams

Florida A&M (6)

Zenia George

Chandelic Jackson

Effiey Kosgei

Kevin Marindich

McDaniel Oliver

Ciera Williams

Hampton (7)

Ashley Armand

Edose Ibadin

Ramon Kelly

Mohamed Labor-Koroma

Quentin Morales-Perryman

Cydney Robinson

Devyn Thompson

Howard (10)

Dorien Broady

James Carey

Mariza Diaz

Oluwaseyi Durasoga

Candace German

Aaron Harrison

Gilbert Kiplagat

Giovanni Mowatt

Wesley Stephens

Monica Todd

Maryland Eastern Shore (8)

Aaron Chatmon

Shantol Hemley

Jheniel Kelly

Alonzo Jarmon

Paul Jerry

Annis Mars

Javierelle Turner

Nancy Yao

Morgan State (7)

Tere Cooley

Harold Lamour

Rolando Reid

Nicolas Smith

Christian Smooth

Ekundayo Sogbesan

Aaron Strums

Norfolk State (3)

Kassandra Irizarry

Tori Lewis-Johnson

Rachel Webb

North Carolina A&T (4)

Janessa Benn

Natalia Bygrave

Christian Harrison

Saeed Jones

North Carolina Central (3)

Brandon Addison

Sararesa Hudson

Jasmine Wanamaker

Savannah State (3)

Mariah Davis

Chavonta Roberts

Lemaar Shakir

South Carolina State (10)

Barry Bethea

Christopher Eley

Breonna Green

Lorenzo Johnson

Seymour Johnson

Danielle Murphy

Tamara Smith

Sarai Waters

Aaron Worthy

Powered by Frankly

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices