Service Men and Women Offer Opinions on Sgt. Bergdahl - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

Service Men and Women Offer Opinions on Sgt. Bergdahl

Posted:
OCEAN CITY, Md. - Several service men and women taking part in a Wounded Warrior vacation in Ocean City offered their opinion about the ongoing situation surrounding released prisoner of war, Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl.

No man left behind.  It is the reason behind the President's strategy to have Sgt. Bergdahl released from captivity in Afghanistan in exchange for prisoners at Guantanamo Bay.  For some, bringing Bergdahl home was a good decision, like Army Wounded Warrior Lisa Crichlowheloy.

"I'm glad he's home.  I mean, we want all of our soldiers home.  And that's all I am going to say about that," said Crichlowheloy.

Other veterans were not so willing discuss Bergdahl as the reports of his actions before he was captured are surfacing.  Members of Bergdahl's platoon said he was on guard duty one night and put down his weapon and walked off base.  Many of those same platoon members have labeled him a deserter.  Wounded Warrior, Dana Summons, said people should pay close attention to those other platoon members.

"Myself, being an army leader myself, I learned that the best information, a lot of the time, came from the soldiers that were right there on the lines.  So, I would say, just listen to what they have to say," said Summons.

But the label of deserter for Sgt. Bergdahl has led some to form very strong opinion about him and what his fate should have been.

"They traded terrorists for him.  And our national policy is supposed to be that we don't negotiate with any terrorist organization for anything.  But we negotiated for a coward," said Army Wounded Warrior, Jason Grey.

Bergdahl is recovering from captivity in an American military hospital in Germany.



  • Delmarvawide NewsDelmarvawide NewsMore>>

  • Dover Business Owners Sound Off During Downtown Tour

    Dover Business Owners Sound Off During Downtown Tour

    09/25/2017 19:37:00 -04:002017-09-25 23:37:00 GMT
    Tuesday, September 26 2017 12:59 AM EDT2017-09-26 04:59:55 GMT
    Erin Thwaite, owner of Bel's Boutique in Downtown Dover, talks with City Councilman David Anderson about running a store in Downtown Dover.Erin Thwaite, owner of Bel's Boutique in Downtown Dover, talks with City Councilman David Anderson about running a store in Downtown Dover.
    DOVER, Del. --- Dover business owners on Monday gave their thoughts on conditions in the downtown area during a tour by city officials and members of the Downtown Dover Partnership.The Monday morning tour was aimed at getting feedback from local businessMore
    DOVER, Del. --- Dover business owners on Monday gave their thoughts on conditions in the downtown area during a tour by city officials and members of the Downtown Dover Partnership.The Monday morning tour was aimed at getting feedback from local businessMore
  • Dover Man Arrested for Drug Charges After Traffic Stop

    Dover Man Arrested for Drug Charges After Traffic Stop

    09/25/2017 18:48:00 -04:002017-09-25 22:48:00 GMT
    Monday, September 25 2017 7:01 PM EDT2017-09-25 23:01:30 GMT
    Courtesy of the Milford Police Department Courtesy of the Milford Police Department
    Milford Police arrested a Dover man after finding drugs in his car during a traffic stop.More
    Milford Police arrested a Dover man after finding drugs in his car during a traffic stop.More
  • Local Sports Fans React to NFL Protests

    Local Sports Fans React to NFL Protests

    09/25/2017 18:40:00 -04:002017-09-25 22:40:00 GMT
    Monday, September 25 2017 6:41 PM EDT2017-09-25 22:41:57 GMT
    NFL players across the country linked arms and kneeled down on one knee - all to take a stand against President Donald Trump and a statement he made last Friday.More
    NFL players across the country linked arms and kneeled down on one knee - all to take a stand against President Donald Trump and a statement he made last Friday.More
Powered by Frankly

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2017 WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices