Timelines Set for Considering Species Protection in 9 States - WBOC-TV 16, Delmarvas News Leader, FOX 21 -

Timelines Set for Considering Species Protection in 9 States


LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP)- Officials have agreed on timelines for determining whether seven aquatic species from nine states will be protected under the Endangered Species Act.
The animals include six fish and a freshwater mussel. One or more of the species are found in Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.
The Center for Biological Diversity says the animals are at risk of extinction due primarily to water pollution and dams.
The center says it reached an agreement this month with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to make determinations on three of the species in 2017, with the others to come between 2018 and 2020.
The species are the ashy darter, frecklebelly madtom, longhead darter, sickle darter, trispot darter, candy darter and yellow lance mussel.

Powered by Frankly

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices